These United States Release New Album Details

Posted by Payton | Posted in album release, live show | Posted on 06-23-2010

Tagged Under :

DC-based These United States have recently prepared their 4th studio album in the last 2 1/2 years. I like that pace. What Lasts has been called a darker writing effort than previous TUS albums – lead man Jesse Elliott wrote the album in 2009 following a near-death experience on Lake Michigan. The album is appropriately named, too. The title track was the only song from the album to survive a laptop theft in which Elliott lost some 300 demos. Below, check out the tracklist , download the first single, and check out some photos from a TUS show I attended last month in Austin:

What Lasts (out 7/20/10)
1.  Nobody Can Tell
2.  Dug Him in the Dirt
3.  One You Believe
4.  The Great Rivers
5.  Just This
6.  Life&Death She&I
7.  Ever Make You Mine
8.  What Do You Want with My Heart?
9.  What Lasts
10. Water & Wheat

Deer Tick, et al – Special Deals @ Amazon

Posted by Payton | Posted in Uncategorized | Posted on 06-08-2010

The boys from Deer Tick drop their 3rd full-length album today, June 8th. You can pick it up digitally at Amazon for only $3.99 – TODAY ONLY. Here’s a track that caught my attention the first listen through:

Deer Tick - Piece by Piece and Frame by Frame

buy The Black Dirt Sessions: [Amazon mp3 $3.99][Vinyl][CD]

Remember, Amazon has monthly mp3 deals that just might blow your mind:

June's $5 Albums:
Glen Hansard & Marketa Irglova - Once Soundtrack
Eddie Vedder - Into The Wild Soundtrack
Arcade Fire - Neon Bible
Spoon - Girls Can Tell
Blitzen Trapper - Furr
Bob Dylan - Together Through Life
Devendra Banhart - Nino Rojo
see all 100 here...


June's $6.99 Albums:
Arcade Fire - Funeral
Monsters of Folk - Monsters of Folk
The Avett Brothers - The Second Gleam
Sea Wolf - White Water, White Bloom
Stoney LaRue - The Red Dirt Album
Joe Pug - Nation of Heat
see all $6.99 albums here...


June's $7.99 Albums:
The Black Keys - Brothers
John Prine - In Person & On Stage
The Hold Steady - Heaven Is Whenever
Phoenix - Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix
She & Him - Volume One
Josh Ritter - So Runs The World Away
The Jayhawks - The Bunkhouse Album
The Black Keys - Attack & Release
Band of Horses - Everything All The Time
Band of Horses - Cease To Begin
Patty Griffin - Downtown Church
Fleet Foxes - Fleet Foxes
see all $7.99 albums here...

Samantha Crain Ready to Release Sophomore Album

Posted by Payton | Posted in Uncategorized | Posted on 06-04-2010

Samantha Crain and her Midnight Shivers are set to release their 2nd full-length album in just four short days. From the songs I’ve heard from You (Understood), Samantha seems to be continuing on a path to folk stardom. Her undoubtedly unique voice is further aided by friendly melodies and an ever-improving backing band. You (Understood) is easily the most polished sound to come from the Oklahoma youngster yet, and already leaves me wanting more. Get a track below and then check out another in the video.

You (Understood) -- Ramseur Records, 6.8.2010
1. Lions
2. Blueprints
3. Equinox
4. We Are the Same
5. Religious Wind
6. Holdin' That Wheel
7. Up On The Table
8. Sante Fe
9. Wichitalright
10. Two-Sidedness
11. Toothpicks


Your options are: Digital Download – $7.99, CD + Digital – $9.99
You can also pick up Samantha’s entire catalog in Digital format for only $19.99